Erin Go Braugh

17 Mar

I have no idea what that means!  We’re not Irish, but we do like to have fun.  Every year I try to do something silly/fun for the kids for St. Patty’s Day and pretend like a leprechaun did it.  Turn everything green with food coloring (milk, toilet water, etc), leave gold chocolate coins by the bedroom door, fun things like that.

Tonight at dinner I realized I didn’t prepare myself for tomorrow being St. Patty’s Day.  I discreetly told my husband that I needed to run out after dinner.  I ran to the grocery store and found that the only St. Patty’s loot they had left were a couple of men’s t-shirts, overpriced hats, some sort of weird drinking device, and a couple of cheesy green pom poms.  I walked right past that section to the toy, candy, and gift wrap section.

For about $20 this is what I got…

Everything green – Peeps, generic Silly Putty, Play Doh, chocolates with green mint inside, shamrock cookies, balloons, and gold star confetti.

I also got those green lunch bags, and I just drew their names on them with a giant first initial.

Everything fit in well.  Here are the bags before I put the cookies in…

The cookies.  Well, a lot of them were broken.

Soooooooooo I may have had to sample one.

It was really good.  The intact ones were so pretty.

I blew up the balloons and placed them along a path of the gold star confetti.

Close up of the loot bags…

Pot O’ Gold?

I had to leave a note for the big guy because I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with everything before he went to sleep.  He’s an early riser and I didn’t want him tripping over things in the dark on his way out to get coffee.

Not bad for last minute.  I can’t wait to see their faces!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!!

PS Don’t forget to hide the evidence!

Leave a Reply

