Date night, a misunderstanding, and breakfast for a week

6 Feb

Last weekend my husband and I were granted a date night by a friend who volunteered to watch the boys for us. 🙂 I love when that happens.  Our plan was that we were going to get something to eat then see a movie.  My husband came home and declared that we would be dropping the boys off at 6:30 and the movie started at 7:00.  It was 5:15.  I had nothing defrosted because I thought we were going out to eat so I got myself all in a tizzy.  Quick dinner = eggs!  Peppers and egg sandwiches.  So I cracked some eggs.

No I'm not a photographer...sorry :0)

I was just about to scramble them up when Jack asked me why I was cooking.  Wait, what?  Ok so he neglected to mention that the boys would be having pizza over at our friend’s house and that we would be stopping quickly before the movie to grab some pizza ourselves.  Hmmm now I had cracked eggs, but no dinner to serve.  What to do…breakfast frittata!

I threw some parsley, grated cheese and salt into the eggs and scrambled them up.  Then I heated up some olive oil and tossed in frozen peppers, onions, and some shredded up ham.

Still not a photographer!

I let that saute for a bit, then put that mixture into a pie dish.  I poured the eggs over, then popped it in the oven.

I cooked it until it set – about 20 minutes, then I added some sliced mozzarella and shredded cheddar because no meal is complete without cheese.  I cooked that about 10 minutes and it was now time to leave.  The frittata was not done cooking.  I shut off the heat, but left it in the oven with some foil over the top of it and hoped for the best.

When we got home the house smelled like, well, eggs of course.  When I took the foil off of the pie dish it was like opening up a gift.  I was greeted with this little beauty.

It was so tasty and I was so happy that our little miscommunication resulted in yummy breakfast!

Have you ever serendipitously created something delicious?

Linking up to The Nester’s – It’s Not Perfect but it’s Beautiful party.

5 Responses to “Date night, a misunderstanding, and breakfast for a week”

  1. nestergirl February 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    LOVE this post! xo

    • Nicole February 20, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Thanks Nester! LOVE the linky party idea!

  2. Kasey M. February 21, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Just hopped over from Nester’s. I absolutely love your crisis turned treat recipe! HB and I sometimes get lucky with “leftover casserole” (chuck a bunch of left overs in a crock pot/fying pan and hope for the best) but never under so much pressure!

    PS How was the movie?

    • Nicole February 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks Kasey! That’s so funny – we had leftover casserole last night!!

      We saw The Grey. It was good, but there was no closure for me in the ending. Definitely more of a guy movie, but it was the hubs turn to pick. ;o)

    • Nicole February 22, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      By the way – I just clicked over to your blog (adorable at first look) and I see that you are from Southern NJ. I’m from Norther NJ :o)
      I’ve saved the link and I plan to go back later on when I have more time to read through your blog and visit your shop. Your stuff looks so cute!

Leave a Reply

