Make it yourself…Cheez-its

27 Jan

I love Cheez-its – they’re so yummy, but I’m trying to eliminate as much processed food as I possibly can.  Hydrogenated oils, added sugars, none of that is good.  So here’s my take on Cheez-its.  I didn’t create this recipe so I’m not taking credit for it, but I do enjoy it.  And it could not be easier to make.

Two ingredients…saltines and shredded cheese.  You can use both low fat crackers and low fat cheese. I didn’t do that this time.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  While that’s heating up wrap a cookie sheet in foil and spray it with cooking spray.  

Spread crackers in a single layer on the cookie sheet.  Sprinkle cheese over the top.  

Once the oven is heated to 500 turn it off.  Stick the crackers and cheese in the oven and leave it there overnight.  

 

It’s not pretty. It’s SO not pretty.  But it sure tastes good!

In the morning break it all apart and store in a ziplock back.  Easy cheesy!

Leave a Reply

