I am NOT June Cleaver

30 Apr

I know it’s probably a real shocker so take a moment if you need to.  I have a slightly messy house at most times because I have two boy children and one boy husband who don’t value organization as highly as I do…and I can’t do it all.  I can bring home the bacon, but can’t fry it up in a pan.  I am ABLE to, but my work schedule would leave us eating at 7:00 and that’s just too late.

I also can’t keep the house sparkling at all times because the way I traditionally clean is to tackle it all at once for hours on end.  This presents a problem because I don’t really have hours of free time to devote to this so cleaning always becomes a source of stress and I feel like I’m trying to catch up all the time.

I was perusing through this month’s BHG and came across and article featuring Donna Smallin.  She was describing how to make cleaning a simpler process.  The idea wasn’t revolutionary – I’ve read things like that before, but for some reason the lightbulb went off this time.  Designate one chore per day.  For instance on one day do all dusting and vacuuming, the next day all mopping, etc.  Also to be sure to leave a day for miscellaneous things like cleaning toilets and dusting fan blades.

I’m going to try to do this.  Some people think I’m lucky working part time.  I agree to a certain extent in that I feel that it’s better than full time and my kids are with family at all times.  However, I feel like I can’t do either job at 100% capacity.  I don’t know if this superwoman exists that can do it all well, but if she does it’s certainly not me.  Doing my best, but implementing tricks like this is the only way to do it!

Any tips?

2 Responses to “I am NOT June Cleaver”

  1. debtfreedecorating February 4, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    I think I’ve always dreamed of being a June Cleaver, but seriously fall on my face everyday. I think the best thing to do is that advice I heard but don’t remember where from, “To just do the next thing”. When I’m at my best, it’s because I just focus on taking care of what’s in front of me. I almost have to set a timer when I’m taking a break or I just get lost in time and zone out–or computer out, is more like it.

    • Nicole February 5, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks for this. I think as long as we’re striving to do our best and not stressing when we can’t be perfect we’ll be ok. Because really, who ever reaches perfection? Even Martha has a team of experts and staff to help her achieve the illusion of perfection 🙂

Leave a Reply

