The silver moon

5 Feb

There must have been a full moon last night!  Too many odd things happened.  The 7 year old darted away from me into the street and almost got hit by a car effectively taking about 10 years off of my life.  Once we were home he accidentally elbowed me in the nose (hard) which is now bruised but not black and blue or swollen thankfully.

A time when he would stay securely in my arms

Then at 2 a.m. the baby had his first real throw up.  Luckily I heard him gag and was able to get him to the sink…the first time.  The second time it all landed directly on me.

Sometimes what goes down must come up

The thing is that all of these things happened, but good things came out of them.  That car could have hit him, but it didn’t, and in the process it sufficiently taught him to never let go of my hand again while crossing the street.

When he hit my nose I saw him immediately start to cry and ask me if I was ok and apologize.  I got to see his sense of responsibility and empathy.

The baby woke up vomiting, but there were no other symptoms of anything.  He could have been coming down with the flu, but he just had an upset tummy and needed to get rid of its contents.  His little body is working as it should.

So I could have gotten all stressed out and crazy over all of these things going wrong.  I probably would have in the past.  But this time I chose to see the positive that is always present in any negative.  If there was a full moon last night it definitely had a silver lining!

Linking up with Emily at Remodeling This Life.  Check her out – she’s great and I love her blog!)

2 Responses to “The silver moon”

  1. Emily@remodelingthislife March 13, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    What a gorgeous photo. Days like that remind me to be appreciate of the good ones.

    Thanks for linking up!

    • Nicole March 13, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

      Thanks Emily! I feel like a celebrity just stopped by my blog! :o)

Leave a Reply

